Goodnight Wherever You Are *

Goodnight Wherever You Are *

Haven’t told a single soul
Though I’m tempted to talk it out
Had a feeling you’d be back
But my feelings are having doubts
When I wake I think I feel you
But I always stretch too far
Never rest my head
Until I’ve said
Goodnight
Wherever you are
My old car is running fine
And I finally lost ten pounds
And even though the bed’s all mine
I’m actin’ like it’s ours
When I wake I think I feel you
But I always stretch too far
Never rest my head
Until I’ve said
Goodnight
Wherever you are
Goodnight to the mirror
Goodnight to your old robe
I’m doing things like you were here
And wishing it were so
At times I laugh at your old jokes
Those who know know why
People who love forever
Find better things to do
Than cry
I’ve got time to do more things
I’m out with friends all night
Thankful for these tender mercies
‘til I turn out the light
Just tonight I felt a chill
And I wished on one more star
I never rest my head
Until I’ve said
Goodnight
Wherever you are
© copyright 1994 David Brunoehler & Melanie Safka

Leave a Reply

