Long Beach*

Long Beach

Never thought I’d be singing

About beautiful Long Beach

Never dreamed I could ever

Be so inclined

Now I find myself living

And dying in Long Beach

If it’s true

What’s that do

To my whole point of view

I am singing

Every day

’bout the breezes and sunshine

How the harbor’s alive

With laughter and wine

Where the dolphins and seals

Will play into night time

In an ocean that feels

Like it’s mine

Never met anyone

Who said they’re from Long Beach

Not until I fell down

And found myself here

Now it seems everyone

I depend on is in reach

Here at home, a place they hold dear

I am singing

Every day

About the faces of friendship

How the strong helping hands

Will not go away

Where the friendliest smile

You may find on a stranger

Or aboard as a ship sails away

Never valued a touch

As I have here in Long Beach

Never wondered so much

What to do with my time

Reaching out. wanting in

How do I fit in Long Beach

Or is this where I find

Peace of mind

I am singing

Every day

In a chorus of solos

In a passionate way

That brings harmonies

All along Long Beach Bay

You can pick up the echoes

Of the spirits

Who beckon

You stay

I am singing

Every day

’bout the breezes and sunshine

How the harbor’s alive

With laughter and wine

Where the dolphins and seals

Will play into night time

In an ocean that feels

Like it’s mine

© 2010 Lyrics by David Brunoehler Music by Sean Clegg

Leave a Reply

