Phoenix Rising *

Phoenix Rising*

No you don’t get to believe
Even though you shot
Me own in flames
That I’d
Easily leave
With embers burning
It won’t happen that way
In the afterglow my love will stay
And up, up from the ashes
I’m returning
Season’s come and they go
Let December winds blow
Through the fire and the snow
There is one thing I know…
I’ll be back like a Phoenix rising
Raise my head
Spread my wings
And fly
Once I’ve lifted my eyes
Above the fire
I’ll arise and I’ll fly even higher
Said my heart back to my sleeve
Though you wear me well
It’s just as well
We leave
Time to awaken
With the morning
And while we are apart
In the empty room a flame may start
Back up, up from the very
Thing we’re burning
Let the last ember glow
Let it rain high and low
Through the fire and the snow
There is one thing I know…
Repeat Chorus
Third Verse in French
Repeat Chorus
Repeat Chorus
© 2003 David Brunoehler & Melanie Safka

Leave a Reply

