Always

Always
Didn’t always look on the bright side
Didn’t always see eye to eye
Didn’t always say all the right things
Didn’t always give it one more try
Always knew you were in my corner
Always had you with me, somehow
Didn’t always garner the highest honor
So I sing about it now
Didn’t always win all the big games
Not everyday did I want to play
Wasn’t the one who earned such a big name
And you could count on me running away
Although I am leaving
I know you will let me
You’ve always been so strong and so kind
Even If I get lost
I’m still believing
Your steadfast light
Will forever shine
And guide me home
To mine.
C 2007 David Brunoehler

Leave a Reply

