Anew

Anew
Well you can
Beat me with bananas
Smoke me with Havanas
Choke me til I’m blue in the face
It won’t make that much difference
You haven’t touched my essence
Yet that’s, dear heart, what occupies our
space.
Remember when you were you
No harm could ever cut through
No matter what the weapon or the means
But then you left to be more
Forgot and locked up your door
Then ran out where some swore you
needed keys
That’s when your light left you
You fought for what was untrue
To no avail you started blaming me
Well you can
Bang away for hours
Drink those whisky sours
Until it’s clear you never needed
Keys or things that need defeated
You are you and I am me
Once you trust this you will see
We’re one and all
Forever free

Leave a Reply

