Another Saturday in September

Another Saturday in September
Another Saturday in September
Nip of autumn in the air
Many things still look familiar
As I stroll around
Here and there
But the one thing I’m aware of
As the fall air filters in
Is that I’m still free to be here
Thanks to God above
And a few brave men
Another artist colors canvas
Soon she’ll put it up for sale
Pretty portraits in a landscape
Every one of which
Tells a tale
But a little bell keeps ringing
Like a memory at my door
It’s that I’m still free to be here
Thanks to all the love
A few fought for
And did you see the determination
Cemented in those eyes
All the pride of a grateful nation
Where the sculptor captured them
mid-stride
Did it happen to grab your attention
In that free September air
It all came home to me
From that family
Who stand alone in stone
Atop that fountain
In the square.
Aromas emanate from restaurants
Owners open up their doors
Across the street an antique dealer
Hangs an “Open” sign
Upon her store
It’s a fine familiar feeling
Always new with every day
Although I notice little changes
I hope and pray
It remains this way
Yesterday we felt the wind blow
As tornados ripped through town
Some were glad we had the rain, though,
There were others who
Got knocked down
But the thing that I remember
Beyond every single storm
With the final clap of thunder
Comes a ray of sun
To keep us warm
Can you feel the determination
In those proud parents’ eyes
All the pride of a grateful nation
As each artist captures them
mid-stride
Does it happen to grab your attention
This doesn’t happen everywhere
It all comes home to me
Each time I see
That family
Atop that fountain
In the square.
C 2002 David Brunoehler

Leave a Reply

