Fireflies

Fireflies
Imagine
Fireflies at your fingertips
Flittering
Aglow
Do you know where they come from?
Do you know where they go?
Little lanterns
Fill the night
Give our faces
Golden light
Land on fingers
Off and on
Then by morning
They are gone
How I wonder
How they fly
How they flicker
And oh my, why?
So much mystery
Summer nights
So much beauty
In their flight
Is there magic
In their wings
Is that what makes them
Lightening things?
If I catch one
Will it tell?
Or will it catch me
In its spell?
If you find out
Here’s a deal
You tell me
What they reveal
And I’ll believe you
If it’s real
If it’s only
Fantasy
Then we’ll have to
Let it be . C 2002 David Brunoehler

Leave a Reply

