I Wanted

I Wanted
I’d wanted to die from AIDS
I’d wanted to go the way of my friends
But then I became afraid
That no one would know
And that’d be the end
I’d wanted to live with AIDS
I wanted to go where the brave dare not go
But then I became afraid
Surprised by a life
I wanted to know
I wanted a cure for AIDS
I wanted the truth to reveal who’s to blame
But then I became afraid
That no one would care
And I felt ashamed
I wanted nothing of AIDS
I don’t understand why it has to be so
But oh, my soul, I’m afraid
I now understand
And knowing, I go
c copyright 2000 David Brunoehler

Leave a Reply

