Looking Around

Looking Around
Looking at things
Like it’s the last time I’ll see them
Saying goodbye
Meaning hello
Looking around
Like I’ve been lost for a lifetime
Counting the days
Until I must go
All of my friends
Lend tacit repulsion
To how I’ve been
When I’m around them
No one to blame
Just an emulsion
Nothing’s the same
Never has been
Some people say
You hear what you want to
Others agree
You are what you see
I’m not afraid
Already been there
Now I just pray
We get it for free
All I have found
Seems to escape me
All that I’ve been
Beginning to end
Nothing I need
Seems so important
Needing no thing
Around the next bend
C 2003 David Brunoehler

Leave a Reply

