Mango, Peaches, Bacon

Mango, Peaches, Bacon
Sweet, powder dry bits of a mango
Getting a chew in my head
Keeps me aware of a flavor of life
One that assures I’m not dead
Slithering bite-size cubes of soft peaches
Syrupy spills from a cup
Stickiness rings round my undershirt collar
Holler, “It’s time to wake up!”
Two crispy slices of bacon and white bread
Moistened with mayonnaise and toast
Crunchy between teeth, tongue and cheeks
My favorite meal
Oh how I feel
Lucky I’ve made it through sleep
C 2008 David Brunoehler

Leave a Reply

