With Evelyn

With Evelyn
I have seen a million human faces,
Been a billion other places
Traveled far
And traveled wide
Till no way went unturned
I have been with ladies and a few men
Seen the outside on the way in
Finding nowhere
left to hide
My bridge to there was burned
But that was that and that was then
It pales, when in comparison
To all the places I have been,
With Evelyn
I have owned a winning lotto ticket
Rode a horse and tried to kick it
Bet a buck
And lost a few
Come out with what I’ve earned
I have sewn a wild oat by the wayside
Grown a new coat: fur on rawhide
Not much luck
At being true
About high time I learn
But that was that and that was then
It pales when in comparison
To all the things that I have been
With Evelyn
Could have been a picture perfect person
Or a rather fun diversion
Could have been
Or maybe should
What good is guessing now?
Would have rather lived in far more
places
Given in and lost the races
Than to not
Have ever known
The things that I’ve been shown
But that was that and that was then
It pales when in comparison
To all the things I think I am
With Evelyn
C 2004 David Brunoehler

Leave a Reply

