It’s Only Temporary

It’s Only Temporary

One thing I know for sure

Nothing painful can endure

Like the grains of sand

In an hour glass

All the aches and pains

Soon will pass

It’s only temporary strife

In this temporary phase of life

Only love and peace of mind

Are the two things

You won’t leave behind

It’s the truth that will abide

As we make our way

To the Other Side

Won’t be long before

I’m back in stride

When I reach my home

On the Other Side

Once bed bound, paralyzed

Licking wounds with tearful eyes

And it hurt so bad

Till I realized

That this trial by fire

Would not last

It’s only temporary strife

In this temporary phase of life

Only love and peace of mind

Are the two things

You will always find

In the truth that will abide

As we make our way

To the Other Side

Won’t be long before

I’m back in stride

When I reach my home

On the Other Side

“Only the strong survive”

Is a thing I held on to

If it’s true then why

Am I so alive

All the times that I’ve

Almost died

It’s a contemporary lie

In this temporary phase of life

Only Love and peace of mind

Are the two things

You can’t leave behind

It is what we are inside

And we’ll be reminded

On the Other Side

Won’t be long before

I sing with pride,

“I have made it home!”

On the Other Side

C 2010  David Brunoehler

Leave a Reply

