Make Yourself Home

Make Yourself Home

Opened my eyes
When you opened the door
The fact that you were standing there
Nearly knocked me to the floor
I let you in
You sat me down
Like two old friends
We went to town
Getting to know sweet nothings
Wasn’t a thing
We couldn’t own
Getting as tight as shoestrings
Wasn’t a place
We didn’t roam
For all of your froth
And all of my foam
Now that you’re with me
Make yourself home
I start to dance
When you saunter in
Just happenstance
One look – it begins
If the moment’s right
And it’s meant for you
Doesn’t take all night
To know what to do
Like a fine familiar
Like a place
We’ve always known
Not a line peculiar
Nor a trace
That hasn’t been shown
For all of your froth
And all of my foam
Now that you’re with me
Make yourself home
So long, solo flights
Say good-bye to the sky
No more lonely nights
Now there’s you and I
Ta-ta to single
It’s time to mingle
You and I make a crowd
Two individuals
Only one middle
Someone to stand beside
I realize
What a rare thing this is
Common as it may seem
I don’t notice when we kiss
The perfect fit
All that I see
I tag, you’re it
You’ve captured me
Don’t think a thing about it
Isn’t a lot
More there to know
Can’t change a thing to top it
Ready or not
Ready set go
For all of your froth
And all of my foam
Now that you’re with me
Make yourself home.
C 2001 David Brunoehler

Leave a Reply

