Before I Let Myself Back Into Heaven

Before I Let Myself Back Into Heaven

Before I let myself back into Heaven

I want to hear a promise

That will not break

That’s understood

And good to make

So then

by the time that I get there

The men

I’ve been told to believe in

Will welcome me home

With wise words and songs

Familiar old tomes

We’ve known all along

So happy finally to remember

What it was they were teaching

Why I did all that reaching

So profound

What it was

That I wanted to say:

“Though empty rounds

May bother you

What you will

Fills every queue.”

Before I let myself back into Heaven

I want to know a person

Who I won’t leave

Who’ll understand

And I’ll believe

So then

by the time that we get there

The wisdom

we’ve tried to believe in

Will find us at home

And open the door

Never to roam

No need to need more

So happy finally to remember

What it was we were needing

While our hearts kept on bleeding

Till we found

Who it was

That we wanted to stay

You for me

Me for you

Two as one

One as two

BILMBIH-2

Before I let myself back into Heaven

I want to feel a feeling

I’ve never known

Reveal a facet

I’ve never shown

So then

by the time that I get there

The thin

lines I’ve hidden in nowhere

Will all be erased

From my aging face

Gone with the wind

Without any trace

So happy finally to remember

To let myself shine

And let love be mine

All around

As it is

It expands and abounds

As if by magic ­   Xanadu

It’s who we are.

It’s what we do.

Before I let myself back into Heaven

I want to change perceptions

Of how things are

What might seem near

May be real far

So then

by the time that I get there

The wind

that’s been blowing in my hair

May measure a man

Or power a fan

A treasured elan

More valuable than

Those happy moments we’re aware of

Inspired not by fears

But the air in our ears

All that’s been

Sight unseen

So peace

Be still

Be what

You will

c 2010 David Brunoehler

Leave a Reply

